Reviews

Review: By Your Side

30256248Author: Kasie West

Pages: 342

Publisher: Harper Teen/ Harper Collins

Date Published: January 31, 2017

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

My Rating: 3.5 Stars

Synopsis: When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?

 

Thoughts:

After a huge misunderstanding, Autumn is left and lock in the library after finishing a paper on a Friday night. It doesn’t help that it’s a holiday weekend, meaning the doors won’t open until Tuesday and on top of that she has an anxiety disorder. Hoping her friends are going to realize they left her, she then comes to the realization that she’s not alone in the library. Getting into this book I thought that the Autumn and Dax would be locked in the library for the duration of the book (well maybe not the whole but at least closer to the end of the book), but sadly that is not the case. They make it out of the library after a few chapters, plus the synopsis makes it seemed totally different than what I thought I’d be reading.

I’ve never read a Kasie West book before so it did take some getting use to when it comes to her writing style but the outcome of the story ended up being way better that I was anticipating it to. Getting deep into the book and it’s characters is pretty ephemeral for me. I thought that Autumn could have been a little less whiny and internally chaotic but she does have an anxiety disorder so I guess I understand where the author was going with that. As for all the other characters I think they were pretty spot on when it comes to depth and personality. The only other thing that brought my rating down was the relationships between the main character and her friends. It didn’t seem very believable or more non relatable. Sometimes I think they are all long time friends then other times I’m thinking maybe they are just started hanging out as a group and it was never really clear just how the dynamic of the friendship was.

Overall it was a really enjoyable and I never got bored with it. If you already love Kasie West you will love this book and if you haven’t, like myself, then it will be a refreshing find for your library. Don’t be surprised if and when you go to the library next and you thinking what it would be like to get locked in there for a weekend. Until next ;-D

5 thoughts on “Review: By Your Side

  1. I love Kasie West! You should totally check ou The Fill-In Boyfriend by her if you enjoyed this one. It’s my favorite out of all her contemporary books.

    Like

      1. No probs, I live for giving book recommendations :D. I’ve read it a while ago, but I’m sure I would still enjoy it if I were to reread it now.

        Like

Leave a Reply

