currently reading

Update: April 7, 2017

I am in the biggest reading slump of my life. I honestly don’t know what is happening. I am now 17 books behind on my Goodreads challenge having only read 8 books out of 100. Last years challenge went great with 54 out of 50 but I wanted to raise the bar and I’m completely blowing it right now. So with all the being said I have been trying to finish all of the books I’ve started and haven’t finish in the past year, starting with Winter from the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer.

WinterStarting (and finishing) Winter means that I can finally finish Stars Above, the bind of novellas for the series. I wanted to read everything in order so I didn’t spoil myself with the wedding before knowing how everyone got to the finish line. I’m almost to the halfway mark and I’m really enjoy it. I once again love the way Marissa Meyer has incorporated the classic fairytale of Snow White and this word world that she’s created of cyborgs and portscreens. I am also very happy and super ecstatic that she has made her characters so diverse. I’ve been to a book signing of hers and she’s made it very clear when it comes to the books, her graphic novels, and if the occasion of a movie were to occur she wants every single one of her character to remain with same ethnicity. She also stated that if it came down to it, she’d rather there to never be a movie (and she wouldn’t sign the rights) if the characters weren’t to be as diverse as she intend them to be. Reading all these different kinds of people in a world that is like ours today and twisted into a constructed scenery of the future is so fun and new. I’ve never read anything like it. If you like the idea of a futuristic twist on classic tales then this series is for you. All and all, I’m on page 380 (out of 824…ugh) and I’m screaming and tearing up because I’m so anxious of what’s to come. Until next time ;-*

Leave a Reply

